140511 Woodneuk Istana

street singapore

This post is about my adventure in one of the oldest houses in Singapore, the Woodneuk Istana.

This is a location in Singapore, that’s so hard to access! See the map below to view our path of entry and exit. The entry was bad, it took us 15 mins to climb and bash our way through the mud and tall grasses. The exit was fast except for an extremely high slope that we had to get down first.  

woodneuk map

After all the efforts, I was pretty tempted to take a piece of the BLUE roof tiles back to keep a piece of history. I was then reminded not to do so… who knows what/who else you are bringing back. =.=””

I shot all of this on my D7000 with a 18-105mm kit lens (Kit lens works as well as any expensive lenses if utilised well with the camera too!)

I shot a roll on my FM2N too. I hope all comes out fine! And well, how I wished I had brought my UWA lens to capture more of this awesome place!

Below are images of the trip! Enjoy!

5 dudes eng eng bo dai ji on Saturday morning… bashing through muddy ground and tall bushes.

Woodneuk Istana

Eric jumping in haste to land once he sees the granite ground
Woodneuk Istana

Excited Benjamin!
Woodneuk Istana

Steady bom pi pi Sam
Woodneuk Istana

Exterior view of the house in HDR processing
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

Side view of the house
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

One of the corridors in the house.
Woodneuk Istana

Beautiful natural light passing through from the window, which had no glass.
Woodneuk Istana

Need to charge your iPhone?
Woodneuk Istana

A fan and lightbulb used to hang there….
Woodneuk Istana

Cooling balcony
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

HDR mode of the interior of the house (should be the living room)
Woodneuk Istana

Power switches
Woodneuk Istana

NASRUL chairs! (Couldn’t find out who is the supplier… doubt they are around anymore)
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

Didn’t know Heater is spelled as Hiter. =D
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

Some of the beautiful grilles at the balcony… The design are just so classic.
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

A lonely tree grew out of no where… A room to itself
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

A mark of history: The burn marks from the accident many years ago…
Woodneuk Istana

The frame of a door, that used to hold a door. The wood must have been of very high quality, for the fact that it’s still in this condition after more than 100 years…
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

Floor tiling
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

Suspected to be a guardhouse for the big house
Woodneuk Istana

Main door of the house
Woodneuk Istana

A piece of history: The Blue Tile
Woodneuk Istana

Part of the design in the house wall (at the top of a wall, so that air circulation is made possible)
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

I make it a point to ensure I am in a part of history so I can document that I have been here before. =D
Woodneuk Istana

Want to run some water for a long bath? =D
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

Apparently, this place is undergoing some plans… likely to be tearing this place down… As beautiful as it is, it’s still not in a condition to be preserved I think as it is too worn down now.
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana
Woodneuk Istana

This is where we exited the place from: There was a bent fence where we just climbed out to get back to civilisation!
Woodneuk Istana

That’s all for my digital work! I am collecting my film scans this week so hopefully I have something nice to share!

Here are some videos I randomly took in the house! (I’m an extremely bad videographer I knw. haha)

My film scans from the shop in Balestier. =D

Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n
Woodneuk Istana on film fm2n

18 thoughts on “140511 Woodneuk Istana

  1. Hi, chanced upon your site when googling for istana woodneuk. Nice photos you have. :)) The place is majestic! I suppose it’s still there now?? I’m planning to go there with my friends soon. How do I access here?? Minghui

    1. Minghui,

      Thank you for dropping by.=D

      I am not certain if the place is still accessible but the last time I went there, I had to bash through the forest to get there… =D

      Watch out for the construction workers too… Good luck!

  2. This post is awesome! I am also thinking of going~ Are u able to sent me the entrance of the entrance from holland? I don’t see any obvious route into istana….

    1. Wao~ Cool~ From your pics… seems like the shrine is not there anymore? Just left some remains only.
      Actually, i am looking for run down places for photoshoots and I came across this awesome Istana Woodneuk on your post. But now, it seems too hard to access(especially difficult for my model as she’s a girl). Was wondering do you have any suggestions that has similar environment to istana woodneuk or something that’s close?
      Its so hard to find locally T.T

  3. Toshi,

    Yes, what remains are what you see on my picture lor.

    These days, hard to find such places when government are tearing down old buildings and restricting access etc. There is one such old house near dairy farm BUT I heard from my friends that they encountered some “dirty” things there so, not recommended.

      1. Btw, once get caught. I’m worried we’ll have to delete those our photos which all our shoots will be in vain T.T

  4. Hey! I’m really interested in going to this place, can you please give me specific details on which bus stop and how to enter? I love exploring old abandoned places 🙂 lovely blog and pictures!

    1. Ci Wei,

      I cannot recall anymore apart from the map I provided in my blog. Either way, you will still need to bash through to reach the place.

      Do take note of the ongoing construction!

Leave a Reply

