Capitol Theatre Part 2 & 3 (Post created on 04 July 2011)

capitol theatre

This is a sequel to my 1st posting of the Old Capitol Theatre. I visited Capitol for the 2nd time, to explore the centre stage as well as the 2nd floor, with torches and flashes.

This time, armed with a 18-35mm UWA and a 50mm lenses. There are in total of 3 visits in this posting so keep reading! =D

The ticketing counter, that used to hand out tickets to movie maniacs.

Capitol Theatre part 2

Due to the ongoing construction, the faithful chairs were disturbed in their peace…
Capitol Theatre part 2

Check out the rubble. Phew!
Capitol Theatre part 2

The history, torn apart
Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

The zodiac roof! (Part of the URA’s plan to restore this part)
Capitol Theatre part 2

2nd floor… Heart thumping away…
Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

Dress Circle seating entrance on level 2. Ever wondered what’s a dress circle? Here you go: Dress Circle
Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

My favourite shot of that day, A fisheye in the centre of the 2nd level helps to form the seats and the roof nicely in place.
Capitol Theatre part 2

The walls inside the theatre have peeled over time…
Capitol Theatre part 2

The dress circle seats also accessible by the side stairs, which are currently locked up.
Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

Capitol Theatre part 2

In this dark room, there was alot of bats, freaky… wouldnt have gone in if I wasn’t alone.
Capitol Theatre part 2

At the end of the dark room, just another ROOM. Anti climax. =.=”
Capitol Theatre part 2

Taken within the dark room
Capitol Theatre part 2

Within the dark room, we saw this signage so I guess this is the entrance to the cinema too. hmm?
Capitol Theatre part 2

Shaw Brother notices
Capitol Theatre part 2

This seems to be a lobby area, where they will hang up new movie posters.
Capitol Theatre part 2

On level 1, I took a peep into the ladies. =p
Capitol Theatre part 2

One view of capitol theatre
Capitol Theatre part 2

The front of Capitol Theatre
Capitol Theatre part 2

From this point onwards, this marked my 3rd visit to Capitol theatre. This time round, to another location within Capitol and armed with a fisheye and a 50mm lens.

Capitol Theatre part 3

I wish I can be a bird, to fly through the entire Capitol Theatre and see its glorious history.
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

4 storeys upwards….
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

The explorers’ torch
Capitol Theatre part 3

The electricity/maintenance room
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

How long have this hanger hang here….
Capitol Theatre part 3

Some old cinematic related equipments
Capitol Theatre part 3

4 floors at 1 glance.
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

A view of the Church in Cityhall from this view. =D
Capitol Theatre part 3

The weathered door.
Capitol Theatre part 3

From level 4!
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

The stairs we climbed along the way
Capitol Theatre part 3

The stairs and railings that had this old school designed edges. Lovely.
Capitol Theatre part 3

One of the old knobs that I remember from old days. I do remember seeing these long long ago…
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Taking a walk down to level 1 again (Time to get out, the air is very stale!)
Capitol Theatre part 3

Need to charge your iPhone?
Capitol Theatre part 3

My favourite power shot.
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Old wires that are beyond usage from the looks of it.
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Durability: Not when it’s not in used since 1987!

Capitol Theatre part 3

This lady gave me a shock when we first walked in… She’s familiar… Look carefully at my shots again and you will know who she is.
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

This toilet is the cutest I ever encountered. Check out the sexy babe pasted on the toilet wall!
Capitol Theatre part 3

Capitol Theatre part 3

Took a shot of this wall before we left (that’s the reason why I got a fisheye again… Capture more details in the shot, hell with the distortion)
Capitol Theatre part 3

This final installment is my latest visit to Capitol, this time with my FM2N shooting mainly with a 55F1.2 lens.

Capitol Theatre part on Film
Capitol Theatre part on Film

Met 2 nice workers there, whom I had some small talk with. I was asking him about the basement of this building and he shared that it was partially flooded. I wonder how will that impact the overall structure… Can the building still be restored to its former glory?
Capitol Theatre part on Film

He was kind to let me take a shot of him. I nailed e exposure but screwed e rules of photography (The pillar was cutting through his head!). As usual, I promised to send him his pictures and I did send him an email today after lunch. Hope he gets it! =D
Capitol Theatre part on Film

Phua Chu Kang at work?

Capitol Theatre part on Film

The rubble that’s treasure to us!
Capitol Theatre part on Film

The ticket counter from inside (see my first shot in this post)
Capitol Theatre part on Film

The rubble consists of old papers from 1993 and broken Cinema seats
Capitol Theatre part on Film

Stamford house, stretching at the other end of the Capitol building. Another beautiful classic building.

Capitol Theatre part on Film

Near by, there is also this Vanguard building. Another classic building.
Capitol Theatre part on Film

OKAY! End of my walk and talk about Capitol.

Some findings on Capitol Theatre for fun read if you are keen.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/conservation/capitol.htm

http://www.ura.gov.sg/sales/Stamford/Launch/Capitol_Briefing%20to%20Tenderers_20100520.pdf

5 thoughts on “Capitol Theatre Part 2 & 3 (Post created on 04 July 2011)

    1. Thanks Eileen! I should have gone there last time. I have never stepped into the theatre before! Biggest regret! I only went in when it is at it’s worst. = (

      1. Dear Gilbert Thanks a lot for the pictures shown in your post, superb ! I used to visit this theatre in the 80″s when living in S’pore. Saw many showes there. I went inside the building in 1998, there were workers getting ready to empty the place. Sat in one of the rows of old chairs, just to get the feeling back of when I was younger and going there with loads of friends. Now I can see that all is still there. Makes memories come back, How did you get in, permit ? I am also looking for old pictures of the Cathay and Lido theatres, as well as the Odeon theatre. If you can assist, most welcome mate !

      2. Hi Maurice,

        Thank you for dropping a comment on my blog. =D

        To be frank, I sneeked in. It is in the midst of being torn down now that is why I wanted to go in to catch the last glimpse of it. That is all I have. Thanks for viewing!

  1. Hello Gilbert : thanks for the reply, I just popped in to check whether you’s found my comment. Still, your pictures are the best so far of one of my fav’s of cinema’s in the world. Too many memories of the place as well as the surrounding food stalls that used to exist near to the car park behind the building. Now all is vanishing away, Singapore was much better in the 80’s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

